The Clarksville Department of Electricity began operations in December, 1938. The city of Clarksville purchased the distribution facility from the Kentucky-Tennessee Light & Power Company, a privately owned and profit making utility, and contracted to purchase power for resale from the Tennessee Valley Authority. All power consumed by CDE and its customers is supplied by TVA.
The department's service area includes all of the 100 square miles located within the boundaries of the city of Clarksville. Approximately 60,000 customers are served and 892 miles of power lines and 960 miles of fiber optic cable are maintained.
A board of five local business people, appointed by the mayor and city council, governs the policies of CDE Lightband.
From 1940 through 1982 the department occupied and operated from the old Post Office building (1898) at 200 South Second Street in downtown Clarksville. That building is now occupied by the Clarksville-Montgomery County Museum. In November 1982, CDE moved into its present administrative, operations and maintenance facilities at 2021 Wilma Rudolph Blvd. The present building at Wilma Rudolph Blvd. houses the electric division and customer service center. The broadband operation is housed at 622 Madison St.
The department has 140 full-time employees. The management team has more than one hundred years of experience in the electrical utility field and is complimented by a dedicated and qualified staff.